Department of Court Records Marriage License/Records 


Allegheny County Department of Court Records (DCR) is now accepting online applications for marriage license using video conferencing.

Instructions to apply for a Marriage License using video conferencing

When is the office open?

The Marriage License/Passport office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm and Saturday‚Äôs 8:45 am to 3:45 pm.
NOTE: No applications will be processed after 4:00 pm

PDF Icon Holidays

What do I need to do to obtain a marriage license?

Applicants seeking a marriage license must appear together in person at the Marriage License Bureau of the Wills/Orphans' Court Division and complete an Application for Marriage License. Photo identification is required at the time of application. The Marriage License Bureau is located on the First Floor of the City-County Building, 414 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Once the Application for Marriage License has been submitted in person and the three day waiting period required by the State has passed, the Marriage License can be mailed, at no extra cost, directly to the home. With this option, couples can save on parking fees, missed time from work or a trip to downtown Pittsburgh.

When should we apply for a license and how long is it valid?

Applicants should take the necessary steps to obtain a Marriage License 2 to 3 weeks before the scheduled date of their marriage ceremony.

Pennsylvania law requires a three-day waiting period between the date applicants apply for a Marriage License and when the license may be issued. If applying on Monday, the license will be ready on Thursday.  If applying on Tuesday, the license will be ready on Friday.  If applying on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, the license will be ready on Monday.

The marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued and may be picked up from the Marriage License Bureau by either of the applicants, a friend or a relative.

A marriage license can also be mailed two weeks prior to the wedding date.

May a marriage license issued in Allegheny County be used anywhere else?

A Marriage License issued in Allegheny County may be used anywhere in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Likewise, a license issued in any other county in Pennsylvania may be used in Allegheny County.

What about prior marriages?

Applicants who have been previously married and divorced must furnish a certified copy of the Decree of Divorce dissolving the marriage. A certified copy of the divorce decree issued by the courts contains a seal. Certified copies of divorce decrees may be obtained by contacting the Family Division of the Court in which the decree was granted (Civil/Family Division if decree was granted in Allegheny County). A widow or widower must provide the date of death of their former spouse.

NOTE: An additional $10.00  per Decree of Divorce will be added to the standard $80.00  Marriage License Fee. For example, if only one applicant has had a prior divorce, the Marriage License Fee would be $90.00 . If both applicants have had a prior divorce, the Marriage License Fee would be $100.00 .

What are the age requirements to marry?

Applicants must be 18 years of age in order to apply for a marriage license. This rule applies to both male and female applicants. Applicants between 16-18 years of age must be accompanied by the custodial parent or guardian to provide written consent. Applicants under 16 years of age must have BOTH the written consent of the custodial parent or guardian and the written approval of a judge of the Orphans' Court Division of the Court of Common Pleas.

Who may not marry?

Persons related by blood up to and including first cousins may not marry in Pennsylvania. Other prohibitions and policies are posted in the Marriage License Bureau of the Wills/Orphans' Court Division.

What are the fees for a marriage license?

The fees for a Marriage License vary from county to county. Allegheny County fees, including Pennsylvania taxes and surcharges, are as follows:

Computer Fee $29.00
Allegheny County Fee $25.50
Pennsylvania Writ Tax $0.50
Court Technology Fee $5.00  
Act 151 Surcharge $10.00
Act 222 Surcharge $10.00
TOTAL $80.00
Additional Fee per Divorce Decree $10.00

Acceptable forms of payments for the fees: Cash/Credit Card/Money Order

Who must file the marriage return?

The officiant performing the marriage ceremony must file the Marriage Return with the Marriage License Bureau which issued the license, within ten (10) days of the date of the ceremony. A marriage record will not exist if the officiant who performs the marriage fails to file this document. Upon request, the Marriage License Bureau will inform the couples whether their marriage return has been filed and recorded.

How do I obtain a duplicate marriage license?

The Allegheny County Marriage License Bureau now offers a certified facsimile of a couple's marriage license. Facsimiles may be obtained by contacting the Marriage License Bureau at the address provided below.

Couples who wish to obtain a certified copy of their marriage record may do so by contacting the county in which their marriage license was issued.


Applicants who have questions concerning any of this material may contact the Marriage License Bureau at (412) 350-4230.

Additional copies:

Single copies of this material are available in a pamphlet format by writing to:

Department of Court Records
Wills/Orphans' Court Division
Marriage License Bureau
1st Floor, City-County Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15219